

VENUE

Charlemagne building of the European Commission 170, Rue de la Loi / Boulevard Charlemagne - 1040 Brussels

CONFERENCE PRESIDENT

Gerrit Niehaus (BMUV, Germany)

CONFERENCE MODERATOR

Ann MacLachlan

STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair: Sebastian Kuhn (BMUV, Germany) Eva Gratzer-Heilingsetzer (BMK, Austria) Ignacio Martin Granados (CSN, Spain) Igor Grlicarev (SNSA, Slovenia) Luc Chanial (ASN, France) Marko Kravos (European Commission)





MONDAY 20 JUNE 2022

08:00 • 09:00 REGISTRATION

09:00 • 10:30

OPENING OF THE CONFERENCE

Gerrit Niehaus

Conference president

Director General for Nuclear Safety and Radiological Protection, BMUV, Germany

Kadri Simson

Commissioner for Energy, European Commission

Rafael Mariano Grossi

Director General, IAEA

Thomas Elsner

ENSREG Vice-Chair

Deputy Director General, Head of Safety of Nuclear Installations BMUV, German

Olivier Gupta

WENRA Chair

Director General, ASN, France

Mikuláš Turner

Stefano Laporta

Patrick Majerus

ENSREG WG Chairs

10:40 • 11:00 **COFFEE BREAK**



1

MONDAY 20 JUNE 2022

11:00 • 12:30

EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

UKRAINE: NUCLEAR SAFETY IN TIMES OF WAR

Massimo Garribba

Deputy Director-General for Energy, European Commission

Oleh Korikov

Acting Chairman and Chief State Inspector for Nuclear and Radiation Safety, Nuclear Regulatory Inspectorate (SNRIU), Ukraine

Lydie Evrard

Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Safety and Security, IAEA

Olivier Gupta

WENRA chair,

Director General, ASN, France

Thomas Elsner

ENSREG Vice-Chair

Deputy Director General, Head of Safety of Nuclear Installations BMUV, German

12:30 • 14:00

BUFFET LUNCH

14:00 • 15:15

SESSION 1

COPING WITH THE PANDEMIC

Michael Hübel

Head of the Unit Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety, European Commission

Alain Vallée

Partner, NucAdvisor



MONDAY 20 JUNE 2022

Pekka Tapani Pyy

Senior Expert, Division of Nuclear Power, IAEA

Bojan Tomic

Managing Director, ENCO

Pilar Lucio

Commissioner, Consejo de Seguridad Nuclear (CSN), Spain

15:15 • 16:00 OPEN DISCUSSION

16:00 • 16:15 COFFEE BREAK

16:15 • 17:30 SESSION 2

PUBLIC PARTICIPATION IN WASTE MANAGEMENT AND LTO

Kimberly Nick

Head of the Division of Nuclear Law, OECD/NEA

Peter de Preter

Senior Advisor, ONDRAF/NIRAS, Belgium

Johan Swahr

Director, Miljöorganisationernas kärnavfallsgranskning (MKG), Sweden

Chantal Jouanno

Chairperson, National Commission for Public Debate (CNDP), France

17:30 • 18:00 OPEN DISCUSSION

Discussant: Paul-Emmanuel Schoeller

Senior VP Nuclear and Thermal communication EDF Group, France



TUESDAY 21 JUNE 2022

09:00 • 10:15

SESSION 3

NEW DESIGNS: REGULATORY CHALLENGES

Sylvie Cadet-Mercier

Commissioner, Autorité de sûreté nucléaire (ASN), France

Marco Brugmans

EU SMR pre-partnership steering committee

Vice Chair, Autoriteit Nucleaire Veiligheid en Stralingsbescherming (ANVS), Netherlands

William Ranval

Director, European Nuclear Installations Safety Standards (ENISS)

Mark Foy

Chief Executive and Chief Nuclear Inspector, Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR), UK

Nikolaus Müllner

Deputy Head of the Institute of Safety and Risk Sciences, BOKU, Austria

10:15 • 10:45

OPEN DISCUSSION

Discussant: Christoph Pistner

Head of Division Nuclear Engineering & Facility Safety,

Öko-Institut, Germany

10:45 • 11:00 **COFFEE BREAK**



TUESDAY 21 JUNE 2022

_11:00 • 12:15

SESSION 4

CHOOSING THE KEY TOPICS FOR NUCLEAR SAFETY RESEARCH

Juan-Carlos Lentijo

President, Consejo de Seguridad Nuclear (CSN), Spain

Manuel Martín Ramos

Deputy Head of the Euratom Coordination Unit, Joint Research Centre (JRC), European Commission

Vesselina Ranguelova

Deputy Head of the Division of Nuclear Safety Technology and Regulation, OECD/NEA

Mareike Rüffer

Head of Department Nuclear Safety, Federal Office for the Safety of Nuclear Waste Management (BASE), Germany

Josef Mišák

Vice-president for Strategy Development, Nuclear Research Institute (ÚJV Rež), Czech Republic

-12:15 • 12:45

OPEN DISCUSSION

12:45 • 13:00

CONFERENCE PRESIDENT'S CLOSING REMARKS

13:00 • 14:00 COCKTAIL WITH FINGER FOOD



→ ENSREG

The European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG) is an independent, expert advisory group created in 2007 following a decision of the European Commission. It is composed of senior officials from the national nuclear safety, radioactive waste safety or radiation protection regulatory authorities and senior civil servants with competence in these fields from all 27 Member States in the European Union and representatives of the European Commission.

As an independent authoritative expert body, ENSREG is working to:

- improve the cooperation and openness between Member States on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- improve the overall transparency on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- and as appropriate, advise the European Commission on additional European rules in the fields of the safety of nuclear installations and the safety of the management of spent fuel and radioactive waste.

ENSREG is also coordinating the Topical Peer Reviews, introduced by the revised Nuclear Safety Directive, with the input of the Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA) and in cooperation with the European Commission.

