# Conference 2019 Nuclear Safety in Europe

5<sup>th</sup> REGULATORY CONFERENCE 6 / 7 JUNE 2019 • BRUSSELS

Co-organised with



European Commission

#ENSREGconf19

G,

#### VENUE

Charlemagne building of the European Commission 170, Rue de la Loi / Boulevard Charlemagne - 1040 Brussels

**CONFERENCE PRESIDENT** Stefano Laporta (ISIN, Italy)

CONFERENCE MODERATOR

Ann MacLachlan

#### STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair: Lamberto Matteocci (ISIN, Italy) Eva Gratzer-Heilingsetzer (BMNT, Austria) Francisco Javier Montero Mayorga (CSN, Spain) Ghislain Pascal (European Commission) Kaisa-Leena Hutri (STUK, Finland) Marko Kravos (European Commission) Michael Knochenhauer (SSM, Sweden) Sebastian Kuhn (BMU, Germany)







# ↗ THURSDAY 6 JUNE 2019

9:00 • 10:30

## INTRODUCTORY SESSION

#### Stefano Laporta Conference President

Chair of the Advisory Board, National Inspectorate for Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection (ISIN), Italy

#### **Miguel Arias Cañete**

Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy (video recording)

Michèle Rivasi Member of the European Parliament

#### Marta Žiaková

ENSREG Chair Chair of the Nuclear Regulatory Authority (UJD), Slovakia

#### **Gerassimos Thomas**

Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

#### Bernard Doroszczuk

Chair of the Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN), France

#### Juan Carlos Lentijo

IAEA Deputy Director General, Head of the Department of Nuclear Safety and Security (video recording)

10:30 • 10:50 COFFEE BREAK



# ↗ THURSDAY 6 JUNE 2019

#### 10:50 • 12:15

## AGEING MANAGEMENT FROM THE EU'S POINT OF VIEW IN LIGHT OF THE ENSREG TOPICAL PEER REVIEW (TPR) EXERCISE

#### Petteri Tiippana

**SESSION 1** 

TPR Chair, Director General of the Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland

#### **Thomas Elsner**

ENSREG Vice-Chair, Deputy Director General, Head of Safety of Nuclear Installations, Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, and Nuclear Safety (BMU), Germany

#### David Ogle

Vice-chair of the European Nuclear Installations Safety Standards (ENISS, Foratom)

#### Hans Wanner

WENRA Chair, Director General of the Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate, Switzerland

#### Margaret Doane

Executive Director for Operations, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission

#### Jan Haverkamp

Consultant on nuclear energy, Greenpeace and Nuclear Transparency Watch

#### 12:15 • 13:00 OPEN DISCUSSION

13:00 • 14:30 BUFFET LUNCH



# ↗ THURSDAY 6 JUNE 2019

14:30 • 16:40

### SESSION 2

# DECOMMISSIONING AND DECOMMISSIONING WASTE MANAGEMENT

#### Lydie Evrard

Commissioner, Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN), France

#### Massimo Garribba

Director of Directorate D, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

#### **Martin Amft**

Senior Specialist, Nuclear Decommissioning, Department for Radioactive Materials, Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM)

#### Lamberto Matteocci

Deputy Director, National Inspectorate for Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection (ISIN), Italy

#### Tomáš Klein

Director, Bohunice decommissioning, JAVYS, Slovakia

#### Juan Luis Santiago

Director of Operations, Spanish Radioactive Waste Management Agency (ENRESA)

#### **Christian Von Hirschhausen**

Professor of Economic and Infrastructure Policy at the Berlin University of Technology and Research, Director at German Institute for Economic Research (DIW) Berlin

-16:40 • 17:00 **COFFEE BREAK** 

17:00 • 18:00

#### **OPEN DISCUSSION**



## **7** FRIDAY 7 JUNE 2019

9:00 • 10:00

### SESSION 3

## STANDARDISATION OF SUPPLY CHAIN AND COMPONENT OBSOLESCENCE

#### **Gerassimos Thomas**

Deputy Director-General, Directorate-General for Energy, European Commission

Maria Palo KELPO Project Manager, ÅF-Consult Ltd, Finland

#### Kirsi Alm-Lytz

Director of Nuclear Reactor Regulation, Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland

#### Mark Foy

MDEP Chair, Chief Nuclear Inspector of the UK Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR)

#### Frédéric Beaud

UK coordinator for AFCEN, Chair of the Editorial Committee

#### Julie Gorgemans

Foratom Vice-Chair, Working Group on Supply Chain

#### -10:00 • 10:30 OPEN DISCUSSION

-10:30 • 10:50 COFFEE BREAK



## → FRIDAY 7 JUNE 2019

10:50 • 12:15

#### SESSION 4

## KNOWLEDGE MANAGEMENT AND SKILLS PRESERVATION

#### **Javier Dies**

Commissioner, Nuclear Safety Council (CSN), Spain

#### Anneli Hällgren

Director of the Development Department, Swedish Radiation Safety Authority (SSM)

#### Jigen Li

Chief Engineer of Nuclear Safety Center (NSC), National Nuclear Safety Administration (NNSA), China

#### Lingquan Guo

Section Head, Networks Management and Partnership Section, IAEA

#### Leon Cizelj

European Nuclear Education Network (ENEN) President, Head of Reactor Engineering Division, Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia

#### Marco Ricotti

President of the Intra-University Consortium for Nuclear Technology Research (CIRTEN), Italy

-12:15 • 12:45 OPEN DISCUSSION

12:45 • 13:00 CONFERENCE PRESIDENT'S CLOSING REMARKS

13:00 • 14:00 COCKTAIL WITH FINGER FOOD



## $\rightarrow$ ENSREG

The European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group (ENSREG) is an independent, expert advisory group created in 2007 following a decision of the European Commission. It is composed of senior officials from the national nuclear safety, radioactive waste safety or radiation protection regulatory authorities and senior civil servants with competence in these fields from all 28 Member States in the European Union and representatives of the European Commission.

As an independent authoritative expert body, ENSREG is working to:

- improve the cooperation and openness between Member States on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- improve the overall transparency on nuclear safety and radioactive waste issues;
- and as appropriate, advise the European Commission on additional European rules in the fields of the safety of nuclear installations and the safety of the management of spent fuel and radioactive waste.

ENSREG is coordinating the Topical Peer Review process, with the support of the Western European Nuclear Regulators Association (WENRA), which suggested the expected scope and content of national assessment reports.



European Nuclear Safety Regulators Group **www.ensreg.eu**