

7th European Nuclear Safety Conference:

Responding to the growing interest in nuclear energy

BluePoint, Brussels

Day 1 Monday, 24 June 2024

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers
08:00 - 09:00		Registration			
09:00 – 10:00	Opening	Introductory session	Ann MacLachlan	Welcome from Conference President	Igor Sirc
				Keynote speaker (video message): Commissioner for Energy, European Commission	Kadri Simson
				Guest speaker: Director General, Nuclear Energy Agency	William D. Magwood
				Chair, ENSREG	Juan Carlos Lentijo
				Chair, WENRA	Mark Foy
				Chair, HERCA	Jean-Luc Lachaume

10:00 - 10:30	Coffee break
---------------	--------------

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers
10:30 – 12:30	1	Adapting nuclear regulation to the new context	Ann MacLachlan	Main speaker: Deputy Director General, DG ENER, European Commission	Massimo Garribba
				Chief State Inspector, SNRIU, Ukraine	Oleh Korikov
				Commissioner, ASN, France	Stéphanie Guénot Bresson
				Chief Nuclear Inspector, ONR, UK	Mark Foy
				Chair, SUJB, Czech Republic	Dana Drabova
				Group Senior Executive Vice President, Strategy, Technologies, Innovation and Development, EDF	Xavier Ursat
				Chair, NEA Expert Group on Public Communication	Ossi Lang
				Senior expert nuclear energy and energy policy, Greenpeace, Netherlands	Jan Haverkamp
12:30 – 13:00	1	Open discussion			

13:00 – 14:30 **Lunch**

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers
14:30 – 15:45	2	Capacity and skills	Ann MacLachlan	Main speaker: President, PAA, Poland Director for Nuclear Safety and Security, JRC, European Commission Chair, ANVS, Netherlands Director General, SSM, Sweden	Andrzej Glowacki Ulla Engelmann Annemiek van Bolhuis Michael Knochenhauer

			Department Research & Development / Alexandru Tatomir Knowledge Management, BGE Germany, EURAD
			Office of the Deputy Director General, Department of Nuclear Energy, IAEA, Marie Curie and Lise Meitner programmes for women in nuclear
15:45 – 16:15	2	Open discussion	

16:30–16:45	Coffee break
-------------	--------------

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers	
16:45 – 17:45	3	Addressing the challenge of climate change	Ann MacLachlan	Main speaker: Professor emerita, BOKU University Vienna, Austria	Helga Kromp-Kolb	
				Deputy Director General, ASN, France	Julien Collet	
				Head of the Nuclear Safety Technology and Regulation Division, NEA	Véronique Rouyer,	
				Chair, ENISS	David Ogle	
17:45 – 18:15	3	Open discussion				

Day 2 Tuesday, 25 June 2024

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers
09:00 – 10:15	4A	Regulatory approaches for licensing of SMRs:	Ann MacLachlan	Main speaker: Director nuclear energy, safety and ITER, DG ENER, European Commission	Jan Panek
		Industrial organization and safety issues		Director General, NuclearEurope International Safety & Licensing Officer NUWARD, France	Yves Desbazeille Karel Deknopper
				Global Licensing Director, Newcleo	Stephane CALPÉNA
				Head of Division, The Öko-Institut e.V., Germany	Christoph Pistner
10:15 – 10:45	4A	Open discussion			

10:45 – 11:00	Coffee break
---------------	--------------

Time	Session	Session Title	Moderator	Role/organisation	Proposed speakers	
11:00 – 12:15	4B	Regulatory approaches for licensing of SMRs: Regulatory collaboration going forward	Ann MacLachlan	Main speaker: Director General, STUK, Finland Technical Advisor to the DG, ASN, France Vice chairman, ANVS, Netherlands, ENSREG Director, Division of Advanced Reactors, US NRC	Petteri Tiippana Sylvie Cadet Mercier Marco Brugmans Mohamed Shams	
12:15 – 12:45	4B	Open discussion				
12:45 – 13:15	4	Session 4A and 4B discussion				

1	3:15 – 13:30	Closing	Closure of the conference		Conference President's closing remarks	Igor Sirc	
1	3:30 – 14:30	Cocktail with finger food					