Statement from Andrej Stritar, Chair of ENSREG, following the 11th Group's meeting of 15 January 2010

ENSREG Vice-Chairpersons re-elected for another one year term. ENSREG Chairs of the three Working Groups re-appointed for another one year term. ENSREG Work Programme for 2010-2011 adopted. ENSREG dedicated website went live. Chairperson of the first European Nuclear Safety Conference and Chairperson of the Steering Committee elected; composition of the Steering Group defined.

At the 11th ENSREG meeting, the two Vice-Chairpersons in function, Ms Ann McGarry and Mr Mike Weightman, were unanimously re-confirmed for a one year term.

The Chairs of the three ENSREG Working Groups, Messrs. Weightman, Varjoranta and Ms McGarry, respectively, were also re-appointed for a one year term.

ENSREG was informed of and reviewed the progress made by its Working Groups:

- The Working Group on Nuclear Safety (WG1) focussed mainly on restructuring its Work Programme in the context of the Directive on the nuclear safety of nuclear installations¹, contributed to drafting the first orientations for the envisaged European Nuclear Safety Conference and organised a meeting with the IAEA experts to examine the inter-relations between the IAEA Integrated Regulatory Review Service (IRRS) missions in the framework of the Nuclear Safety Directive.
- The core outcome of the activity of the Working Group on Waste Management (WG2) consisted in the elaboration of a first proposal for a possible Commission Directive proposal on the management of radioactive waste and spent fuel. On the scope of the Directive, ENSREG unanimously agreed that it should focus on the policy of management of radioactive waste and spent fuel.
- The chief accomplishment of the Working Group on Transparency (WG3) was the launching of the dedicated ENSREG Website².

ENSREG approved the policy statement on the main objectives of the ENSREG activities for the reference period (see HLG_p(2010-11)_44).

ENSREG identified first orientations for the European Nuclear Safety Conference. Mrs. Martínez Ten was elected Chairperson of the first Conference; Mr Pouleur was elected Chairperson of the Steering Committee.

Next ENSREG meetings are planned on 20 April 2010 and (tentatively) 6 July 2010.

¹ Council Directive 2009/71/EURATOM of 25 June 2009 establishing a Community framework for the nuclear safety of nuclear installations: OJ L 172/18 of 02.07.2009

² <u>www.ensreg.eu</u>